I’m Not A Band // Band Story

The “Bandstory” is a new section on our homepage. Here we want to document the origin and history of our bands. Let’s start with a Berlin band called I’m Not A Band and the mastermind behind it – Stephan Jung.

A vinyl and CD special bundle for the story can be found in our online shop.

Classical music and electro, the then living in Leipzig Stephan Jung took a liking to both styles. So it seems obvious that he tries to connect them. The initial attempts with the singer and friend Jana Damm should only be a taste of the upcoming musical successes.

They write and compose together on the planned debut album “Electrolin”. While first reviews are being written, Stephan is already on the lookout for a flat in Berlin.

“Trainthoughts” (2009)

Since his childhood, Stephan Jung has had a great passion for the violin. Later he trains himself as a classical musician and begins to realize his musical plans.

The hectic city of Berlin inspires him on the one hand, but on the other hand ensures that he has to move his studio. Out of the too small shared room and into the garage of friends, which serves him well to produce his songs.


“I’m Not A Band does not overwhelm you with instruments, but the music helps to stimulate the imagination, sometimes confusing, but still it always excites you”
– MDR Sputnik


The concept works: I’m Not A Band is touring through countless European clubs, whether in Warsaw, London or Milan. In 2011 they release their debut album “Electrolin” and play as the opening act for Egotronic. In addition, they are signed by AdP Records, making them siblings of bands like I Heart Sharks or Dadajugend Polyform.

Debütalbum Electrolin  – „Crazy“ (2011)

In addition to the debut album “Electrolin” (2011) in a new cast with the singer Kassandra (inter alia, at Parfum Brutal) the album “Bandband” was released in 2012. Also at the second work “INAB” successfully convinced with intelligent and danceable tracks.


“Their songs draw their tension from the play between classical and electronic music. The result is a wonderfully sparkling electropop “

-PULS


Other successful artists noticed their unique sound, like takeSomeCrime, with the real name Mike. The same became known because he dances to electropop tracks and produces high-range videos of it. The music producer Miguel Endera and the talented artist created a music video for the song “Blister”. (down below)


“A successful mix of violin and electro”
-Star


After extensive touring and several single releases, Kassandra wanted to focus on her band “Parfum Brutal”, but it doesn’t take long for Stephan to meet the talented Simon Ortmeyer, who together produce pop without being pop, electronic without electro, band without being a band. Between decelerating and energetic beats, I’m Not A Band creates dazzling thunderstorms from a wide variety of musical worlds and emotions on their new work “Oceans.” The gesture is great, the melodic lines catchy, but never predictable.

Successful with violin and synthies: I’m not a Band – Interview with Pop10 (2015)

In 2015, the first joint album of this lineup called “Oceans” was released. In addition to the unique electro-classical sound, the duo also has a clear political message: With the song “Colors” they clearly position themselves against racism and for a more solid dealing with refugees.

“Colours” (2015)

“Violins, electronic beats and catchy, poppy melodies create a new sound that is as well received in the club as well as on a Sunday afternoon in the living room.”
-Mephisto 97.6


“Stronger” (2017)

“Past Forward” marks the logical next step in the evolution of the duo. The second album in the cast of Jung / Ortmeyer marks a turning point and brings big success. The understanding of electronic music is as modern and innovative as it is international. “Past Forward” wants to be pop.

For over a year, the two heads joined forces behind I’m Not A Band to create the organic and vibrant sound on “Past Forward” – out of the oasis of well-being, leaving old patterns behind to achieve new effects.


“Past Forward” is just as outrageous as the title suggests: a music that stirs through its supposedly insurmountable contrasts. [I’m Not A Band] irritate a nerve that has not been irritated for a while. […] Whoever has managed to get the idea that a future of electro-pop could have revealed itself here. “
-Intro


„Past Forward“ – Album Snippets (2017)

Past Forward “[shines] now as a brilliant masterpiece, as a new highlight in the discography of I’m Not A Band”
-I still have it


Supported by the warming voice of Simon Ortmeyer and the sometimes filigree, partly orchestral accents by Stephan Jung’s violin, the songs achieve a dynamic, dance-like and energy that goes beyond the boundaries of classical club music. Not least the untypical tempos and the recurring half-time feeling create a crackling mood.

„I’m Not A Band“ at radioeins Dachlounge with their single „Swimming“

You can find more of the unconventional duo here, or
among the social media contacts of “I’m Not A Band”:

Interested for their CDs or Vinyl? Take a look at our shop!

I’m Not A Band // Bandstory

Die „Bandstory“ ist eine neue Rubrik auf unserer Homepage. Hier wollen wir die Entstehung und die Geschichte unserer Bands dokumentieren. Den Anfang machen die Berliner I’m Not A Band um Mastermind Stephan Jung.

Ein Vinyl- und CD-Special-Bundle zur Story findet Ihr in unserem Onlineshop.



Klassische Musik und Elektro, der damals in Leipzig lebende Stephan Jung fand Gefallen an beiden Stilrichtungen. Da liegt es nahe, dass er versucht, selbige zu verbinden. Die anfänglichen Versuche mit der befreundeten Sängerin Jana Damm sollten nur ein Vorgeschmack auf die kommenden, musikalischen Erfolge sein.

Sie schreiben und komponieren gemeinsam an dem geplanten Debütalbum „Electrolin“. Während die ersten Rezensionen geschrieben werden, ist Stephan bereits auf Wohnungssuche in Berlin unterwegs.

„Trainthoughts“ (2009)

Was für andere Musiker die Gitarre ist, ist für ihn seine Geige. Stephan Jung hegt seit seiner Kindheit eine große Leidenschaft für das Streichinstrument.Später lässt er sich zum klassischen Musiker ausbilden und beginnt mit der Verwirklichung seiner musikalischen Pläne.

Die Hektik der Großstadt Berlin inspiriert ihn einerseits, sorgt andererseits aber auch dafür, dass er sich zurückziehen muss. Raus aus dem zu kleinen WG-Zimmer und rein in die Garage von Freunden, die ihm bestens zum Produzieren seiner Songs dient.


„I’m Not A Band überschütten einen nicht mit Instrumenten, sondern die Musik hilft, die Phantasie anzuregen, manchmal auch verwirrend, aber trotzdem reißt es einen immer mit“
MDR Sputnik


Das Konzept geht auf: Man reißt sich um diesen neuen Sound. I’m Not A Band touren durch unzählige europäische Clubs, egal ob in Warschau, London und Mailand. 2011 veröffentlichen Sie das Debütalbum „Electrolin“ und spielen als Vorband für Egotronic. Zudem werden sie von AdP Records unter Vertrag genommen, womit sie zu Geschwistern von Bands wie I Heart Sharks oder Dadajugend Polyform werden.

Debütalbum Electrolin  – „Crazy“ (2011)

Neben dem Debütalbum „Electrolin“ (2011) wurde 2012 in neuer Besetzung mit der Sängerin Kassandra (u.a. auch bei Parfum Brutal) das Album „Bandband“ veröffentlicht. Auch beim Zweitwerk überzeugt „INAB“ mit intelligenten und tanzbaren Tracks.


„Ihre Songs beziehen ihre Spannung aus dem Spiel zwischen klassischer und elektronischer Musik. Das Ergebnis ist wunderbar perlender Elektropop“
PULS


Auch andere erfolgreiche Künstler fanden Gefallen an dem Sound, wie takeSomeCrime, mit dem eigentlichen Namen Mike. Selbiger wurde bekannt, weil er zu Elektropop-Tracks tanzt und davon Videos mit hoher Reichweite produziert. Der Musikproduzent Miguel Endera und der talentierte Künstler kreierten kurzerhand ein Musikvideo zu dem Song „Blister“. (siehe unten)


„Eine gelungene Mischung aus Geige und Elektro“
– Stern


Nach ausgiebigen Tourneen und mehreren Singleauskopplungen wollte sich Kassandra auf ihre Band Parfum Brutal konzentrieren. Es dauert aber nicht lange, bis Stephan auf den talentierten Simon Ortmeyer trifft. Gemeinsam produzieren sie Pop, ohne Pop zu sein, elektronisch ohne Elektro zu sein, Band ohne Band zu sein. Zwischen entschleunigender Ruhe vor dem Sturm und energetischen Beatentladungen erschaffen I’m Not A Band auf ihrem neuen Werk „Oceans“ schillernde Klanggewitter aus einer breitgefächerten Vielfalt an musikalischen Welten und Emotionen. Die Geste ist groß, die Melodiebögen eingängig, aber nie vorhersehbar.

Erfolgreich mit Violine und Synthies: I’m not a Band – Interview mit Pop10 (2015)

2015 wird das erste gemeinsame Album dieser Besetzung namens „Oceans“ veröffentlicht. Neben dem einzigartigen Elektro-Klassik-Sound hat das Duo auch eine eindeutige politische Botschaft: Mit dem Song “Colours” positionieren sie sich klar gegen Rassismus und für einen solidarischeren Umgang mit Geflüchteten.

„Colours“ (2015)

„Violinen, elektronische Beats und eingängige, poppige Melodien sorgen für einen neuen Sound, der im Club genauso gut ankommt wie an einem Sonntagnachmittag im Wohnzimmer.“
– Mephisto 97,6


„Stronger“ (2017)

„Past Forward“ markiert den konsequenten nächsten Schritt der Entwicklung des Duos. Das zweite Album in der Besetzung Jung/Ortmeyer markiert einen Wendepunkt und holt zum ganz großen Schlag aus. Das Verständnis elektronischer Musik ist so modern und innovativ, wie international. „Past Forward“ will Pop sein.

Über ein Jahr lang schlossen sich die beiden Köpfe hinter I’m Not A Band ein, um den organischen und lebendigen Sound auf „Past Forward“ zu kreieren – heraus aus der Wohlfühloase, alte Muster hinter sich lassen, um neuartige Wirkungen zu erzielen.


„Past Forward“ ist genauso unerhört, wie der Titel suggeriert: Eine Musik, die durch ihre vermeintlich unüberwindlichen Kontraste aufwühlt. [I’m Not A Band] reizen damit einen Nerv, der schon länger nicht mehr gereizt wurde. […] Wer das geschafft hat, bekommt die Ahnung, dass sich hier eine Zukunft des Electro-Pop offenbart haben könnte.“
– Intro


„Past Forward“ – Album Snippets (2017)

Past Forward“ [erstrahlt] nun als glänzendes Meisterstück, als neuer Höhepunkt in der Diskografie von I’m Not A Band“
– E1nen Hab Ich noch


Getragen von der wärmenden Stimme Simon Ortmeyers und den teils filigranen, teils orchestralen Akzenten durch Stephan Jungs Violine erreichen die Songs eine Dynamik, Tanzbarkeit und Energie, die über die Grenzen klassischer Clubmusik hinausgeht. Nicht zuletzt die untypischen Tempi und das immer wieder aufkommede Half-time-Feeling erzeugen eine knisternde Stimmung.

„I’m Not A Band“ bei radioeins Dachlounge mit der Single „Swimming“

Mehr von dem unkonventionellen Duo findet ihr hier oder unter den Social Media-Kontakten von „I’m Not A Band“:


Jetzt auch erhältlich im Shop: Unsere CD und Vinyl Bundle von INAB!