I Heart Sharks // Bandstory

“One English Boy, One German Boy, One Lost Boy”

In the Mecca of Berlin’s techno clubs Berghain the 10-year history of a band begins in 2007, which will stir up the German music scene with its mix of electro, pop and indie throughout its career.

Surrounded by loud beats and basses, the then still new Berliners Pierre Bee, Simon Wangemann and Georg Steinmaier meet. Three young men from three different countries realizing that they are musically on the same wavelength and decide to form a band. They want to make music that reflects the influences of the techno metropole Berlin. Music that stimulates dancing but also at the same time makes you think. They collect ideas and start rehearsing in the wet cold cellars of East Berlin. From „One English Boy, One German Boy, One Lost Boy.“ The trio with the name “I Heart Sharks” is created.

“We like the mystifying danger emanating from sharks. We like all the excitement that is being made about this animal. Even if we are not so dangerous ourselves, we want to create a similar ecstatic feeling when we enter the stage.“

Pierre Bee

For the next two years the trio will play wherever you want to hear them: in squatted houses as an act of a “classic” indie concert or the DJ break in the club. With Simon on guitar, Georg on drums and Pierre on mic, they enchant the audience with their weird electropop, so that no dance leg stands still.

In 2010 “I Heart Sharks” is part of the Immergut Festival line-up and on stage next to big city sharks like “An Horse”, “Two Door Cinema Club” or “FM Belfast”. With their fresh combination of Britpop and big-city electro, the newcomers inspire the festival visitors and their first EP won’t be long in coming. In July the same year the EP “Wolves” is released. The German music press is impressed, comparisons to bands like “Friendly Fires” and „Does It Offend You, Yeah?” are quickly made.

“Danceable music with clever lyrics sometimes seems as impossible as licking your own elbow. I Heart Sharks proves that it is possible.“

AHOI Magazin
“Wolves” (2010)

Next their debut single “Neuzeit” released in October of the following year. Together with the indie label AdP-Records “I Heart Sharks” are writing new history. The single appears both digitally and as a handmade limited special edition and marks the first time that the band, even if only in the chorus, is tinkering with German lyrics.

A week later the first album “Summer” released. For Georg it is the first and the last album.The drummer leaves the band in December.

“With their debut album Summer, the band skillfully fuses different genres and plays cat and mouse with the emotions of their audience. Their vibes seduce to dreamlike dance, while lyrics and melody seem to move in a state of space and timelessness. With their interpretation of Indietronic, the three musicians create a distance that still gets close to you. And when the concert is over, you find yourself among people who just now seem not to have existed.“

Rolling Stone

In 2012 Martin Wolf from Leipzig joins the band as the new drummer. The three of them gather their first experiences abroad as tour support for “Friendly Fires” and “Natalia Kills”. They’re expecting a summer of gigs, playing the Melt! Festival, they support Kraftklub on stage of Dortmund’s Westfalenhalle and deliver the faux-German anthem for 2012 to the Berlin Festival with their song “Neuzeit.“

“Neuzeit” (2011)

“Anthems” released in 2014 together with the label Polydor. The band’s second album was produced with the support of Hurt producer Joe Cross and Ultravox singer Midge Ure in the former GDR Funkhaus in Köpernick and an old textile factory in Manchester. Among many danceable numbers, in contrast to their debut, there are also melancholic songs.

“In the two years we made the record, some friends of ours died. Furthermore, a relationship breakdown has made many songs sadder. We’ve generally become more mature, which has made the sound more complex overall. “

Pierre Bee
“To Be Young” (2014)

Nine years after their foundation, the boys are now four. They are completed by the bassist Craig Miller. In 2016 the band returns to their roots, back to the indie label AdP-Records and the DIY concept. They change studio for rehearsal room and release the EP “Hey Kid” in March. In addition to the song of the same name “Hey Kid”, the single also includes the song “Dancing On Your Own”, whose music video deals with the taboo surrounding the topic of masturbation of women.

In November the third and last album of the boys follows. In “Hideaway” they want to talk about Generation Y, who was promised the world and in the end received only empty words. Together with the urban musician Sway Clarke, an album is created that radiates hope. The optimistic message of the songs is accompanied by the insight that change is inevitable.

„The worlds not what it used to be, but neither are we.“

I Heart Sharks
“Lost Forever” (2016)

“After 10 years as I Heart Sharks, we’ve decided it’s time to say goodbye.“

I Heart Sharks

After 10 years, the German-British band has decided in 2018: It’s time for you to say goodbye. With an emotional message to their fans, the four say goodbye on their social media platforms.

After all they have experienced together over the years the four of them part as friends. As a final thank you to their fans the quartet gave four final concerts. The “Goodbye Tour” started on 07. September 2019 in Munich and ends where it all began: Berlin. There two Englishmen, a New Yorker and a German making history for the very last time. Filmed by Laura Böhm and Eileen Sophie Hirsch, a wonderful documentary is created about the boys and their last concerts as a common band, about the last moments as “I Heart Sharks”.

“I Heart Sharks prove that it doesn’t take radical end-of-the-world slogans to make music with a message.”

AHOI Magazin
“THE BEGINNING OF THE END. I Heart Sharks – die letzte Tour” (2018)

Bildquellen

  • I-Heart-Sharks-Logo-1: http://www.iheartsharks.net/
  • IHS-4-1: https://www.bandsintown.com/en/a/430553-i-heart-sharks
  • Neuzeit-Single-Cover-1: https://genius.com/albums/I-heart-sharks/Neuzeit
  • IHS-13-1: https://www.bandsintown.com/en/a/430553-i-heart-sharks

I Heart Sharks // Bandstory

In Teil zwei unserer AdP-Bandstorys dreht sich alles um I Heart Sharks aus Berlin. Viel Spaß beim Lesen!

Den ersten Teil mit I’m Not A Band findet Ihr hier.

“One English Boy, One German Boy, One Lost Boy”

Im Mekka der Berliner Technofans, dem Kultclub Berghain, beginnt 2007 die 10-jährige Geschichte einer Band, die im Laufe ihrer Karriere mit ihrem Mix aus Elektro, Pop und Indie die deutsche Musikszene aufmischen wird.

Umgeben von lauten Beats & Bässen treffen die damals noch Neu-Berliner Pierre Bee, Simon Wangemann und Georg Steinmaier aufeinander. Drei junge Männer aus drei verschiedenen Ländern erkennen im Laufe der Nacht, dass sie sich musikalisch auf einer Wellenlänge befinden und beschließen eine Band zu gründen. Sie wollen Musik machen, die die Einflüsse der Technometropole Berlin in sich widerspiegelt. Musik die zum Tanzen und Nachdenken anregt. Sie sammeln Ideen und fangen an, in den nasskalten Kellern Ostberlins zu proben. Aus „One English Boy, One German Boy, One Lost Boy.” entsteht das Trio mit dem Namen “I Heart Sharks”.

“Wir mögen die mystifizierende Gefahr, die von Haien ausgeht. Uns gefällt die ganze Aufregung, die um dieses Tier gemacht wird. Auch wenn wir selbst natürlich nicht so gefährlich sind: Ein ähnlich ekstatisches Gefühl wollen wir bei den Leuten auslösen, wenn wir die Bühne betreten.“

Pierre Bee

In den nächsten zwei Jahren spielt das Trio bei nahezu jeder Gelegenheit, die sich bietet: In besetzten Häusern, auf einem „klassischen“ Indiekonzert oder in der DJ-Pause im Club. Mit Simon an der Gitarre, Georg am Schlagzeug und Pierre am Mikro, verzaubern sie mit ihrem schrägen Elektropop die Zuhörer, so dass kein Tanzbein ruhig bleibt.

2010 ist „I Heart Sharks“ Teil des “Immergut”-Festival Line-Up und steht neben Großstadthaien wie „An Horse“, „Two Door Cinema Club“ oder „FM Belfast“ auf der Bühne. Die Newcomer begeistern mit ihrer frischen Kombi aus Britpop und Großstadt-Elektro die Festivalgänger. Ihre erste EP lässt nicht lang auf sich warten: Im Juli desselben Jahres erscheint das Debüt „Wolves“. Die deutsche Musikpresse zeigt sich angetan, schnell werden Vergleiche zu Bands wie „Friendly Fires“ und „Does It Offend You, Yeah?“ gezogen.

„Tanzbare Musik mit cleveren Texten scheint mitunter so unmöglich wie das Ablecken des eigenen Ellbogens. I Heart Sharks beweisen, dass es machbar ist.“

AHOI Magazin
“Wolves” (2010)

Nach ihrem Debüterfolg erscheint im Oktober des darauffolgenden Jahres die Single „Neuzeit“. Zusammen mit dem Indielabel AdP Records schreiben „I Heart Sharks“ die „Neue Geschichte“. Die Single erscheint sowohl digital als auch als handgemachte, limitierte Special Edition-CD mit Bonustracks und Remixen.

Eine Woche später erscheint mit den Worten „Let’s pretend it‘s summer.“ das erste Album „Summer“ des Trios. Für Georg ist es das erste und das letzte Album, der Schlagzeuger verlässt im Dezember die Band.

„Mit ihrem Debütalbum Summer lässt die Band gekonnt verschiedene Genres miteinander verschmelzen und spielt Katz und Maus mit den Emotionen ihres Publikums. Ihre Vibes verführen zum traumähnlichen Tanz, während Lyrics und Melodie in einem Zustand von Raum- und Zeitlosigkeit zu versetzen scheinen. Mit ihrer Interpretation von Indietronic schaffen die drei Musiker eine Distanz, die einem trotzdem nahe geht. Und wenn das Konzert vorbei ist, findet man sich unter Menschen wieder, die gerade eben noch nicht existiert zu haben scheinen.“

Rolling Stone

2012 tritt der Leipziger Martin Wolf als neuer Schlagzeuger der Band bei. Zu dritt sammeln sie als Toursupport für Friendly Fires und Natalia Kills erste Auslandserfahrungen. Sie erwartet ein Sommer voller Auftritte. Sie spielen das Melt! Festival, sie stehen als Support von Kraftklub auf der Bühne der Dortmunder Westfalenhalle und liefern dem Berlin Festival mit ihrem Song „Neuzeit“ gleichzeitig auch die faux-deutsche Hymne für 2012.

“Neuzeit” (2011)

„Anthems“ wird 2014 beim Majorlabel Polydor released. Das zweite Album der Berliner Band entstand mit der Unterstützung des Hurt-Produzenten Joe Cross sowie des Ultravox-Sängers Midge Ure im früheren DDR Funkhaus in Köpernick und einer alten Textilfabrik in Manchester. Unter viele tanzbare Nummern mischen sich, in Kontrast zu ihrem Debüt, auch melancholischere Lieder.

„In den zwei Jahren, in denen wir die Platte gemacht haben, sind ein paar Freunde von uns gestorben. Außerdem hat ein Beziehungs-Aus dafür gesorgt, dass viele Songs trauriger geworden sind. Wir sind generell erwachsener geworden, was den Sound insgesamt vielschichtiger gemacht hat.“

Pierre Bee
“To Be Young” (2014)

Neun Jahre nach ihrer Gründung sind die Jungs nun zu viert. Sie werden durch den Bassisten Craig Miller vervollständigt. 2016 kehrt die Band zu ihren Wurzeln zurück, zurück zum Indie-Label AdP-Records und dem DIY-Konzept. Sie wechseln Studio gegen Proberaum und veröffentlichen im März die EP „Hey Kid“. Die Single beinhaltet neben dem gleichnamigen Song „Hey Kid“ auch den Song „Dancing On Your Own“, dessen Musikvideo sich mit dem Tabu rund um das Thema Masturbation der Frau beschäftigt.

Im November folgt das dritte und letzte Album der Jungs. In „Hideaway“ wollen sie über die Generation Y reden, der die Welt versprochen wurde und die am Ende dann doch nur leere Worte erhielt. Zusammen mit dem Urban Musiker Sway Clarke entsteht ein Album,  das Hoffnung ausstrahlt. Die optimistische Message der Songs wird begleitet von der Einsicht, dass Veränderung unvermeidbar ist.

„The worlds not what it used to be, but neither are we.“

I Heart Sharks
“Lost Forever” (2016)

„Nach 10 Jahren als I Heart Sharks haben wir uns dazu entschieden, dass es Zeit ist „Auf Wiedersehen“ zu sagen.“

I Heart Sharks

Nach 10 Jahren steht für die deutsch-britische Band 2018 fest: Es ist an der Zeit für Sie „Auf Wiedersehen“ zu sagen. Mit einer emotionalen Nachricht an ihre Fans verabschieden sich die Vier auf ihren Social-Media Plattformen.

Nach allem, was sie in den Jahren zusammen erlebt haben, gehen die Vier als Freunde auseinander. Als letztes Dankeschön an ihre Fans gibt das Quartett vier finale Konzerte. Die „Auf Wiedersehen-Tour“ startet am 07. September 2018 in München und endet da, wo alles angefangen hat: In Berlin. Dort schreiben zwei Engländer, ein New Yorker und ein Deutscher ein allerletztes Mal Geschichte. Abgedreht von Laura Böhm und Eileen Sophie Hirsch entsteht eine wunderschöne Dokumentation, über die Jungs und ihre letzten Konzerte als gemeinsame Band, über die letzten Momente als „I Heart Sharks“.

„I Heart Sharks beweisen, dass es keine radikalen Weltuntergangsparolen braucht, um Musik mit Botschaften zu machen.“

AHOI Magazin
“THE BEGINNING OF THE END. I Heart Sharks – die letzte Tour” (2018)

Mehr von der Band findet ihr hier oder unter den Social Media-Kontakten von „I Heart Sharks“:


Auch erhältlich im Shop: Unsere Produkte von I ♥ Sharks!

Bildquellen

  • I-Heart-Sharks-Logo-1: http://www.iheartsharks.net/
  • IHS-4-1: https://www.bandsintown.com/en/a/430553-i-heart-sharks
  • Neuzeit-Single-Cover-1: https://genius.com/albums/I-heart-sharks/Neuzeit
  • IHS-13-1: https://www.bandsintown.com/en/a/430553-i-heart-sharks