Lucas Laufen

Lucas Laufen‘s music can be linked to a form of therapy. His delicate brand of folk effortlessly relieves the listener of any stress, grief or sorrow. Sombre falsetto melodies married to shimmering guitars within elemental orchestrations that yearn and plunge, endow us to stop, breathe and escape the daily noise.

Growing up in the small ex-fishing town of Port Lincoln, Australia, Lucas was a passionate pianist at the age of eight and an ardent trumpet player at ten. It was not until his teens that he discovered the acoustic guitar and began fostering a deep and unique passion for songwriting.

Lucas’s musical narrative embodies the dichotomy of the two worlds he inhabits, combining the coastal poetry of the wild Australian landscape with the rich history of the European continent he now calls home. The Australian songwriter, now Berlin-based, self-released his debut EP “Goodbye” in early 2016. The release expressed an important milestone for the young artist, as he left behind his small-town life in Australia for the German capital on the other side of the world.

Lucas is an incredibly dedicated and hardworking artist, since touching down in Europe, he toured extensively across the continent. Building a loyal audience playing over 300 shows, including a Live At Heart, and supporting acts in the likes of Hollow Coves, Julia Jacklin, Paul Dempsey, and Billie Marten.

In 2018, Lucas travelled to New Zealand to record his debut album “I Know Where Silence Lives” with producer Ben Edwards (Marlon Williams, Julia Jacklin, Aldous Harding). Shortly after completing the album, Lucas signed with Berlin label Embassy of Music (Björk, Ásgeir, Passenger) for the release of the debut record in December 2019. The album received widespread radio and editorial support in France and Australia, alongside German radio support from Flux FM, Radio Eins, Deutschlandfunk and HR2, as well as landing three Deezer editorial playlist spots and a TIDAL rising cover artist feature.

Like many, the COVID 19 pandemic put a stop to Lucas’s extensive touring. However, the songwriter redirected his focus to the studio, collaborating with Grammy award-winning producer Antonio Pulli to produce his second studio album “Weathering”. The album is a breathtaking statement of artistry for Lucas, combining Neoclassical and Folk influences. Lucas will once more be teaming up with Embassy of Music for the release of the body of work over 2021 and 2022, accompanied by another fresh swathe of shows across Europe and beyond.

Releases

Lucas Laufen

Die Musik von Lucas Laufen kann man als eine Art “auditiven” Kurzurlaub verstehen. Seine zarte Art von Folk befreit den Zuhörer mühelos von jeglichem Stress, Kummer und Sorgen. Düstere Falsett-Melodien, gepaart mit flirrenden Gitarren in elementaren Orchestrierungen, lassen uns innehalten, durchatmen und dem Alltagsstress entkommen.

Aufgewachsen in der kleinen ehemaligen Fischerstadt Port Lincoln, Australien, war Lucas im Alter von acht Jahren ein leidenschaftlicher Pianist und mit zehn Jahren ein begeisterter Trompeter. Erst im Teenageralter entdeckte er die Akustikgitarre und begann eine tiefe und einzigartige Leidenschaft für das Songwriting zu entwickeln.

Lucas’ musikalische Erzählung verkörpert die Dichotomie der beiden Welten, in denen er lebt und verbindet die Küstenpoesie der wilden australischen Landschaft mit der reichen Geschichte des europäischen Kontinents, den er nun sein Zuhause nennt. Der australische Songwriter, der jetzt in Berlin lebt, veröffentlichte Anfang 2016 seine Debüt-EP “Goodbye” im Eigenverlag. Die Veröffentlichung war ein wichtiger Meilenstein für den jungen Künstler, da er sein Kleinstadtleben in Australien für die deutsche Hauptstadt am anderen Ende der Welt hinter sich ließ.

Lucas ist ein unglaublich engagierter und hart arbeitender Künstler, der seit seiner Landung in Europa ausgiebig durch den Kontinent tourte. Er baute sich ein treues Publikum auf, indem er über 300 Shows spielte. Darunter ein Auftritt bei Live At Heart und er begleitete Künstler*innen wie Hollow Coves, Julia Jacklin, Paul Dempsey und Billie Marten auf Tour.

2018 reiste Lucas nach Neuseeland, um sein Debütalbum “I Know Where Silence Lives” mit dem Produzenten Ben Edwards (Marlon Williams, Julia Jacklin, Aldous Harding) aufzunehmen. Kurz nach der Fertigstellung des Albums unterschrieb Lucas beim Berliner Label Embassy of Music (Björk, Ásgeir, Passenger), über das er seine Debüt-LP schließlich im Dezember 2019 veröffentlichte. Das Album erhielt gutes Feedback von Radiostationen und der Presse in Frankreich und Australien. In Deutschland wurden Lucas Songs auf Flux FM, Radio Eins, Deutschlandfunk und HR2 gespielt, zusätzlich erzielte er drei Deezer Editorial Playlist Spots und ein TIDAL Rising Cover Artist Feature.

Wie viele andere auch, stoppte die COVID 19-Pandemie Lucas’ ausgiebige Tourneen. Der Songwriter konzentrierte sich jedoch wieder auf das Studio und arbeitete mit dem Grammy-prämierten Produzenten Antonio Pulli zusammen, um sein zweites Studioalbum “Weathering” zu produzieren. Das Album ist ein atemberaubendes künstlerisches Statement von Lucas, das neoklassische und Folk-Einflüsse vereint. Für die Veröffentlichung seines zweiten Soloalbums wird Lucas erneut mit Embassy of Music zusammenarbeiten, begleitet von einer weiteren Reihe an Konzerten in Europa und darüber hinaus.

Releases